Closed Vita Test and Patch Info

dinianface

A sign-up schedule was recently announced for a Closed Beta testing period for the Vita version of PSO2.

The sign-up period is between the 4th of December 2012 and the 7th of January 2013.

I unfortunately do not own a Vita so I will not be able to provide a guide myself, but Bumped has the relevant information around here.

Some key points:

  • A maximum of 50,000 participants will be selected for the test.
  • Tests will be concerning themselves with compatibility issues between the PC and Vita versions, as well as general stress testing.
  • The test servers are separate from the live servers, so PC participants will need to make new characters.
  • Character data will not carry over from this Closed Beta.
  • You can apparently sign up for it through a PS3 as long as it’s connected to the JP PSN store, so you don’t need a Vita. (I don’t have access to a PS3 either, d’oh). Update: This was deemed a bug by Sega, you can no longer sign up to the beta this way

Like the testing periods held for the PC version, there will be prizes handed out for participating in the tests and reaching class level 10 on at least one character.

  • A Riser / Nacht – a Gunslash.
  • 1 x Photon Sphere
  • 1 x 500 FUN ticket

No news of when the actual tests themselves will begin, or really much information about the contents of the test.

Related to this, during the live broadcast earlier today on Niconico the opening movie for the PSVita version of Phantasy Star was revealed. It is a recording from the broadcast, so it’s low quality.


Where Darkness Gathers – Part 1

SANTAMANPart 1 of the next addition to PSO2 will be being implemented during tonight’s maintenance. That means it’s patching time, of course!

I hope you’ve been making use of the pre-downloader service. If you have, your patch will be up to 3.2GB smaller. If you haven’t, you’ll need to download a whopping 5.2GB patch tonight. Good luck with that…

The maintenance will be taking place at the usual times listed on the right of this site, but just in case you’re too lazy to scroll up a bit:

  • JST: Wed 11:00 – 17:00
  • GMT(UK): Wed: 2:00 -8:00
  • EST: Tue 21:00 – 3:00
  • CDT: Tue 20:00 – 2:00
  • MDT: Tue 19:00 – 1:00
  • PDT: Tue 18:00 – 0:00
  • HADT: Tue 16:00 – 22:00

Towards the Future

According to information posted up at Shougai PSO, Sakai briefly hinted that future content would expand beyond the current formula of going to planets to slaughter the natives.

But that’s what ARKS do! Artificial Relict to Kill Species, it’s in their name! Keep, kill, whatever.

In any case let us all look forward to PSO2: Episode 2: Dinian Diplomacy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s