Western Release Announced

So it actually happened. Sega of America announced that PSO2 will in fact be coming to the US and Europe in Spring 2013. Along with this news came the release of the official PSO2 US site here. Not much to mention about it, other than it’s a very similar format to the official JP site during their testing phases.

Along with the new site is an official blog post announcing the release.

PSO-World, which is interestingly directly linked to on the official site, has also made a post about it here.

Finally, an official release trailer is due out today at some un-determined time. I’ll update this post with the video when it is released. It’s out!

It’s the same PSO2 trailer we saw months ago, pretty much.


Thoughts.

Well I guess that history of Phantasy Star thing that SoA’s official Twitter was going through was related to PSO2 after all. It was a pretty safe bet, but unfortunately there is still no information on the real nature of this release. Is it just a localization, hosted on global servers or will it be separated servers with its own update schedule, the kind that has already failed twice in the past? What does this mean for US/EU players and people from other parts of the world who have already started on the Japanese servers? Hopefully this information will come out soon, as I know I’m not the only person thinking of these questions.

Update: Speculating on a post by Edward (SoA staff) here, it seems like it may well be separate servers. It’s not a definite, but it’s how I’m interpreting it myself. It would be great if I were proven wrong.

Personally speaking, Sega of America has hurt my trust in them enough as a company so that I won’t be investing most of my time in their servers, IF they turn out to be separate. It is however free to play, so I see no harm in rolling a character on there for the purposes of this blog and information gathering. This is all assuming they’d be separate at all, because don’t forget that there is a fair amount of things within the client which could indicate support for a globally hosted game such as:

  • language options in the Japanese launcher
  • localization files in the Japanese client
  • in-game content listing your local time instead of JP time (timers on repeatable Client Orders)

If they are separate, I do wonder how they’re going to handle content. By spring 2013 the Japanese game will have multiple fields, their first “gigantic boss” whatever that will turn out to be and other things mentioned on the long-term schedule. When the western version is out, will the worst happen and only Forest and Volcano Cave be available to them? As much as I have said I won’t be putting much time into their servers, I do hope they don’t let history repeat itself.


About PSO2Blog.

I will be posting about the western version of the game, no matter the nature of the release. However this does naturally mean that some aspects of the site will need to be changed to reflect that there is more than 1 version of the game, particularly the manual section which assumes you’re playing an un-patched Japanese client.

This also means I’ll need to go with the official translations of names and things for the sake of consistency, regardless of whether I agree with them or not.

PSO2blog was always intended to be an opinions blog over a news blog. I write it for fun and will continue to write the blog for as long as I find it fun to write. Recently the blog has passed the 100,000 hit mark, which is a figure I never thought I’d hit, let alone this soon. It’s a great feeling to know people are reading and I hope that this site has helped you out in some way, or at least given you something pretty to look at.

At the very least, thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

